Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Facebook | Twitter | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Ballot now in place for November’s general election

August 12, 2011
By Ashley Rittenhouse ( , The Marietta Times

The November general election ballot has been set, with city and village council seats, mayor seats and various township positions among the things that are up for grabs.

In some cases, there are open positions for which no one has filed. Peggy Byers, the director of the Washington County Board of Elections, said even though the deadline to file passed this week, that is not out of the ordinary.

"Most likely those jurisdictions will appoint somebody," she said. "The little villages don't want to pay the $30 dollar filing fee and they know they don't have competition and they'll be reappointed (so they don't file)."

City of Marietta

Democrat Joe Matthews, who served three terms as mayor of Marietta between 1992 and 2004, is running for mayor once again against current Marietta city council member Jon Grimm.

Marietta's current mayor, Michael Mullen, is running as an Independent for a council-at-large seat. Current Democratic council-at-large member Harley Noland is also running for the seat, as well as Democrat Denver Abicht, Republicans Dianne Crandall and Glen McCabe and Independent Michael Boersma.

Democrat Walt Brothers and Republican Josh Schlicher are both running for the council president seat currently held by Paul Bertram, III. Schlicher, a current council-at-large member, was chosen by the Marietta Republican Central Committee in January to complete the term started last year by Andy Thompson, who resigned to take his place as the representative for Ohio's 93rd House District.

Republican Sherri Hess and Independent candidate Dana Singer are running for the city auditor seat previously held by David Locke.

Village of Beverly

In the Village of Beverly, the terms of current council members Mary Jane Tullius and David Lowe will expire at the end of this year but both have filed to run again.

Also running for a council seat is Thad Tucker. Tucker could not be reached for comment Thursday.

Current Beverly mayor Clem Biedenbach will face off against Rex Kenyon in the mayor's race. Kenyon is currently a member of the village's board of public affairs and his wife, Beth Kenyon, is a council member.

"The village is in need of a mayor that has had managerial experience and who will conduct the people's business in an open and transparent way," Rex Kenyon said. "The village needs a mayor that will provide the leadership to encourage business to stay in the village and provide a business-friendly climate to attract new business."

When asked in early July whether he would run again, Biedenbach said he was on the fence.

"(Council members) kind of talked me into it," Biedenbach said Thursday.

Village of Lowell

Current mayor Douglas Seese has filed to run again and current village council member David Pitzer is also running for mayor. Pitzer was unavailable for comment Thursday. His council term expires Dec. 31.

Seese, who has been the village's mayor for 12 years, said he's running again "just to keep things going in a positive direction."

No one filed for village treasurer, two open council seats or two open board of public affairs seats.

Lower Salem Village

Current Lower Salem mayor David Brightbill has filed for the mayor seat and he will run unopposed. Brightbill said he has been a member of the village's council for about 30 years and was appointed as mayor after former mayor Lloyd Ullman moved to Marietta.

"It's just something I felt I should do partly because there didn't seem to be a great deal of interest anyplace else," Brightbill said. "I thought about not running then council people said 'You should do that.'"

Christina Alcarez and Angela Greathouse are running for two open village council seats.

"They were both appointed to fill unexpired terms," Brightbill said.

Macksburg Village

Current mayor Jerry Williams is the only person who filed to run for mayor. He's been in the position for almost two years.

"We're starting to get things coming around - we have a nice town and a lot of nice people," Williams said.

Current council members Nancy Huntsman and James Westfall have filed for two open council seats.

New Matamoras

Dennis Agin, who has been mayor for four years, is running against John K. Schmidt.

"We've got two (council members) up for re-election," Agin said. "One is Greg Knowlton - he's been on for a while - and the other is Gary Riggs - he replaced someone in the spring."

Katrina Barnhart and John W. Schmidt, neither of whom are currently on council, are also running for the two open council seats.

Current board of public affairs member James Chambers has filed for a seat on the board. Agin said neither of the other two people who have filed - Bill Creighton and John Hutchison - are currently on the board of public affairs. There are two open seats on the board.

There have been filings for positions in every township in Washington County. Lowell resident Carrie Tullius is one of the people who filed who has never held an official position in the township.

She filed for the Adams Township fiscal officer position currently held by Barbara Huck.

"The lady that's in the position currently said she was thinking of giving it up and she asked if I'd be interested," Tullius said. "I've always lived in Lowell all my life and I know a lot of the people."

The Washington County Board of Elections will meet to certify filings Aug. 17.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web